Minutes to Bell Time

2022 New Champs

Image Credit: WWE.com

2022 New Champs


  • January 5th – AEW Dynamite
    • TBS Championship – Jade Cargill wins Inaugural TBS Championship (defeats Ruby Soho)
    • AEW Tag Team Championships – Jurassic Express wins titles (defeats Lucha Bros)
  • January 8th – Battle of the Belts
    • Interim TNT Championship – Sammy Guevara wins Interim Championship (defeats Dustin Rhodes). Interim title created because current champion Cody Rhodes has COVID.

New Japan

  • January 4th – Wrestle Kingdom 16 Night 1
    • NEVER Openweight ChampionshipEvil wins NEVER Championship (defeats Tomohiro Ishii)
    • IWGP Heavyweight Tag ChampionshipsHirooki Goto and Yoshi-Hashi win Tag Titles (defeat Zack Sabre Jr. and Taichi)
    • IWGP World ChampionshipKazuchika Okada wins IWGP Championship (defeats Shingo Takagi)
  • January 5th – Wrestle Kingdom 16 Night 2
    • 2022 KOPW Interim Championship – Minoru Suzuki wins the Interim Championship (defeating Toru Yano, Cima, and Chase Owens
    • IWGP United States Championship – Hiroshi Tanahashi wins US Championship (defeats Kenta)


  • January 4th New Year’s Evil
    • NXT Cruiserweight ChampionshipCarmelo Hayes wins Cruiserweight Championship and unifies the title with the North American Title (defeats Roderick Strong)
    • NXT Championship – Bron Breakker wins NXT Championship (defeats Tommaso Ciampa)

Ring of Honor


Check out HighSpots for signed and exclusive wrestling items.


If you enjoy Minutes to Bell Time, consider subscribing to my weekly pro wrestling letter. You can read last week’s letter and subscribe by Clicking Here

Share this: